The old lady who lived by the bench.

Today I am sitting out on the bench having tea from nearby tea stall. Don’t ask why no coffee! While it has been days that have been here didn’t know what really has changed. I can assure you, there must have been many changes around here in peoples life as well as development but not in life of an elderly lady.

As I’m sipping my tea, I see that she has also been served tea the by stall owner. There is an empty bench or should I say reserved one as it is occupied by the elderly lady who has made it her home, the look kinda will make one pity upon but wouldn’t be of any help.
The stall owner, I don’t know if he has any distance relations with the lady. As I sometimes noticed him cracking jokes with her or talking of some past which I barely understood nor I wished to know.

Half of bench seems to be occupied by the stuff under which is a mystery to me. But how that stuff is covered would make you understand what possibly could be under a stained bed sheet which seemed was washed until handed over to this poor lady. A weird shaped sheet swelled like anything but if put a weight on would surely know, those were clothes but anything.

This elderly lady must have crossed her sixties or not that old either but situations might have made her look like. Wrinkled body, shrinkage a sign of old age. A Saree which seemed like a table cloth now under which a brown filthy sweater that has never been changed be it winter or summer and been torn all over. While walking shivering has mostly become part of the walk I guess. I see that a lady in almost 50s suddenly out of nowhere rushing towards her with something in hand which was later handed over to the elderly lady who seemed overwhelmed and I thought the first thing next she is gonna do is to cry loudly instead she kept quite and tried feeling it with the hands to find out what is it she has been given and I guess she understood what it was, something to eat as a breakfast and I could see tears rolling down her wrinkled face and here I am sipping a morning tea. I really could not take it anymore. I left that place without paying any other thought to the situation and thought that something better can be done to this lady. It has been four years now and I have never been to place…….

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

